Wednesday, 31 July 2013

Life stages of a tree species


1. Seed.

2. Seedling: the above-ground part of the embryo that sprouts from the seed.

3. Sapling: After the seedling reaches 1 m tall, and until it reaches 7 cm in stem diameter

4. Pole: young trees from 7 to 30 cm diameter.

5. Mature tree: over 30 cm diameter, reproductive years begin.

6. Old tree: dominate old growth forest; height growth slows greatly, with majority of productivity in seed production.

7. Over-maturedie-back and decay become common.

8. Snag: standing dead wood.

9. Log/debris: fallen dead wood.